The Winnerys – The Winnerys

It’s not that usual to see reviews of demo recordings, but when you do, you know there’s something special about it.

Well, this one’s waaaaaaaay behind its time … of course, I mean it as a compliment, cuz what you’re about to hear here is recycling of the times gone by in the most delicious way.

If you feel like BEATing the hell outta Mersey, try the usual, but oh so effective, jangly-12-string- against-the-three-part-harmonies formula of Messages Inside, It’s Up To You which could’ve come right out of the early Macca/Lennon songbook, or I’ll Be Waiting For You which could’ve taken Gerry & The Pacemakers right to the top for the fourth time in a row, had it been chosen instead of I’m The One.

Moving along the time line, there’s some more universal mid sixteez pop in It Must Be…, and if you have ever wondered how would The Beatles sound like in ’64 while playing some of their ’67 stuff, In My Garden is as close as it can get.

Besides all these vintage sounds, The Winnerys sure know a thing or two about “the knack” and how to get it, and the proof will make you “tremble”. You’ll even hear some good-timey pub rock about The Guy With Two Houses, and the perfect summer single The Magical Wonder, is the one that features the battle between the past and today, in a kinda “dodgy” way.

I haven’t mentioned that The Winnerys come from Madrid because it shouldn’t be the topic here. If there is some justice in the music world today, their fame will be international-bound, so you won’t have to worry about their origin.

[Self-released 2002]

Sign me up for PopDiggers newsletter!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.